A New Blog for a New Country

I’m typing this post from an apartment in downtown Manila, exactly 8,313 miles from my hometown in Texas–a torturous 14-hour flight across the Pacific Ocean. (However, the distance is worth it – the Philippines is beautiful, from the beaches to the mountains.)

That's me, throwing what I know on the Bantayan Island beach.
That’s me, throwing what I know on the Bantayan Island beach.

But this 3-week winter break vacation with my boyfriend is short compared to the five months I’m about to spend studying abroad in Seville, Spain. In ten days, I’ll be hopping another international flight and landing in Seville. Soon, I’ll start classes at la Universidad Pablo de Olavide, or “la UPO,” a public university partnered with my own university here in the states. I’ll be living with a Spanish family and speaking Spanish almost exclusively; it will be a truly immersive cultural experience.

I’m excited, nervous, and terrified all at once.

All that means that I’m changing the “theme” of this blog to a travel blog. I’ll still be writing posts, of course, but I’ll be focusing less on writing itself and more on my experiences in foreign countries. Consider this my “Warning: New Content Ahead” post. So, if you’re interested in photos of Europe, reflections on the differences between American and other cultures, packing tips, interesting Spanish vocabulary, and sightseeing recommendations, then keep reading.

Also known as Sevilla, the capital of Andalusia is 2,200 years old and is said to have been founded by the mythological hero, Hercules.
Also known as Sevilla, the capital of Andalusia is 2,200 years old and is said to have been founded by the mythological hero, Hercules.

I was rummaging around the web today, getting pumped up for the trip, and came across some travel-related quotes. They serve as a reminder that I’m studying abroad for more than just improving my Spanish–I’m living in another country to develop new perspectives and experience new things.

Need some inspiration to see the world?

“All journeys have secret destinations of which the traveler is unaware.” – Martin Buber

“One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller

“The world is a book and those who do not travel read only one page.” – St. Augustine

“There are no foreign lands. It is the traveler only who is foreign.” – Robert Louis Stevenson

“When we get out of the glass bottle of our ego and when we escape like the squirrels in the cage of our personality and get into the forest again, we shall shiver with cold and fright. But things will happen to us so that we don’t know ourselves. Cool, unlying life will rush in.” – D. H. Lawrence

Leave a Reply

